Hey guys! I can’t believe it’s already May! I have exams soon and then school is done, summer here I come! (Aka reading everyday haha)

I had a GREAT reading month. I read 8 books which is the most I’ve read in one month this year, AND I really enjoyed them all, I gave them all either 4 or 5 stars (except for one oops, I just realized that now! But it probably looks like I give out 5 stars to so many books, I usually don’t, I’m kinda picky but I just read lots of good books this month!!

Now, since this is already going to be a long wrap up, let’s get stared!

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

I had to read this for school, and we read it out loud, together, as a class and I definitely think that took away from my enjoyment of this because my teacher made people read out loud and no one could read that good, especially Shakespeare… It just didn’t work out. I haven’t read much Shakespeare, but out of the few plays I’ve read, this wasn’t my favourite. I didn’t hate it though an ended up giving it 3.5/5 stars.

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Wow looking back at this at the end of the month it seems like I read this so long ago but it was this month! I’ve had Every Last Word on my shelf for like 10 months and I knew it would be so good and I’d love it but I never picked it up. Then when I read it it was so good and I loved it. BUT MAN THE ENDING DESTROYED ME. 5/5 stars for sure, I have a full book review, click here for that.

The Trials Of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Then a bunch of new releases came out and The Hidden Oracle was my most anticipated May release. I love Rick’s books so much, I just always have such a fun time reading them so I wasn’t surprised when this book was amazing and PERCY WAS IN IT and ALL THE NICO AND WILL WAS PERFECT! 5/5 stars, no doubt about it. Cick here for my book review.

The Crown by Kiera Cass

Another new release I picked up and flew through in less than a day was The Crown! It wasn’t the most satisfying ending, it was a bit rushed, but fun to read just the same and that’s what The Selection series is, loads of fun. Plus Eadlyn was less of a brat ha. I rated this 3.5-5 stars and click here for my review, I talked way more in depth there!

The Beginning Of Everything by Robyn Schnider

I wanted to read another contemporary next so I picked up Robyn’s first book (I read and loved Extraordinary Means last year) and it was so good, and really heartbreaking actually which surprised me a bit (idk why though, I have read Extraordinary Means after all) but it was really enjoyable and just what I needed before picking up the next book I read, I gave it 4/5 stars.

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

This was a hard read, it wasn’t long or anything, just a hard topic but it was super important and I rated it 5/5 stars. Also at this time one of my friends who doesn’t normally read was reading it for school so we got to chat about it which was nice!!

A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Next I finally had the courage to read the marvellous acotar, which I thought would take me forever to read but I read it in less than two days! THIS BOOK WAS EVERYTHING I NEEDED IN MY LIFE AND MORE.  I’m in love with it. Also it was my first SJM book, now I see why everyone’s loves her books! Obviously this was a 5/5 star book. Also I got acomaf for my birthday (which was on June 1st) and I’m a little over 200 pages in and it’s WONDERFUL.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I ended off the month by rereading The Hunger Games because we are studying it in English class and got lots of reading periods (so I thought why not spend two periods reading it) and I just felt like it too because I hadn’t read it in so long. It was just as amazing as I remembered, even better maybe. I think because of how popular and hyped the movie franchise, some people forget how amazing the books actually are, and they are incredibly sad too, I definitely had to try and hold back tears while reading it in class. 5/5 stars, same as the first time I read it.

There are my thoughts on the 8 books I read this month! In June I’m already making my way through two books but I don’t know how much reading I’ll get done this month because I have exams but hopefully I’ll still have time for lots (I probably will because the dance season is ending so I’ll only have dance one a week instead of everyday, which will free up lots of reading time!)

PS I for some reason couldn’t add pictures for some of the books… Which is frustrating, when I can I will!!

What about you? How many books did you read this month? Which one was your favourite? I think mine would be A Court Of Thorns and Roses, it was just so good!

15 thoughts on “May 2016 Wrap Up!

  1. The Beginning of Everything was a good read and heart-breaking too! I didn’t expect that at all. Robyn should have more recognition for her books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVE ROBYN SCHNEIDER. She is just a blessing to the YA universe. I only read like 3 or 4 books this month? I blame it on my reading slump aha. But my favourite read was It’s A Wonderful Death by Sarah J. Schmitt – you should definitely check out if you like humour-filled YA. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah if I read it at my speed (in less than a day instead of stretched over 3-4 weeks) I think I also would have enjoyed it more 😦

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been bad with reviews at the end of May, my acomaf review will probably be up on Monday or Tuesday! I did love it though

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been my best reading month yet ! And I think that’s how most people are feeling about The Crown.

      Like

Leave a comment